/ Modified aug 4, 2021 11:42 a.m.

Dahl, Kozachik win Democratic primaries for Tucson city council

Unopposed, Fimbres is nominated for another term

360 vote here A vote here sign outside of a polling place in Tucson. November 2020.
John DeSoto/AZPM Staff

Voters nominated conservationist Kevin Dahl and incumbent Steve Kozachik for seats on the Tucson City Council after competitive Democratic primaries on Tuesday.

Dahl won the Democratic nomination for Ward 3 with about 60% of the vote, edging out businessman Juan Padrés, according to unofficial results.

Dahl is poised to face independent Lucy LiBosha and Republican Alan Harwell Jr. in the general election.

They are running to succeed city councilor Karin Uhlich, who was appointed to fill a vacancy last year and is not seeking a full term.

Kozachik won the Democratic nomination for District 6 with about 57% of the vote, defeating challengers Miranda Schubert and Andrés Portela.

Kozachik will face independent Val Romero in the general election.

Democratic city councilor Richard Fimbres was also nominated for another term in an uncontested primary for his seat representing Ward 5.

Fimbres will be unopposed in the general election.

About 22% of eligible voters participated in the election across the three wards.

MORE: News, Politics, Tucson
By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media is a service of the University of Arizona and our broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents who hold the trademarks for Arizona Public Media and AZPM. We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples.
The University of Arizona