/ Modified jun 26, 2012 8:17 a.m.

Wildcats Win College World Series

Arizona beats S. Carolina 4-1; McKale Center celebration at noon

By The Associated Press

The Arizona Wildcats wrapped up the College World Series Monday night with a ninth-inning rally to give them a 4-1 victory over two-time defending champion South Carolina.

Arizona's Brandon Dixon doubled home the tie-breaking run in the ninth before scoring on Trent Gilbert's two-run single.

Relief pitcher Matt Troupe allowed South Carolina to load the bases in the bottom of the ninth with one out, but he got two more outs to finish the game and bring home the championship.

It was the Wildcats' 10th straight post-season victory without a loss and gave the school its fourth national baseball championship. Arizona last won the College World Series in 1986.

The Wildcats finished the 2012 season with a 48-17 record.

The team will arrive in Tucson at mid day and participate in a McKale Center celebration. Doors open at noon, and the team is expected to arrive at 1 p.m.

MORE: News, Sports, Tucson
By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media is a service of the University of Arizona and our broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents who hold the trademarks for Arizona Public Media and AZPM. We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples.
The University of Arizona